Annual Summit

3rd Annual Summit & Awards Banquet





photos are available on website or by direct link  –

Synchro BC hosted the 3rd Annual Summit at the Richmond Olympic Oval from October 20-22, 2017. A busy day on Saturday chock-full of education and training sessions for athletes, coaches, officials, parents and club executives was capped off with the Awards Celebration in the Oval’s Legacy Lounge. Close to 50 of Synchro BC’s members were recognized for their outstanding contributions and performances during the 2016-17 season.

2016-2017 Awards winners:

Athlete Awards
AG11-12 Provincial Stream – Nia Dragonova, BC Aquasonics
AG11-12 National Stream – Nancy Liu, Pacific Wave Synchro
AG13-15 Provincial Stream – Daisy Vasquez, BC Aquasonics
AG13-15 National Stream – Kendall Stirrat, Pacific Wave Synchro
AG16-18 Provincial Stream – Katie Ignace, Kamloops Sunrays
Junior Athlete – Claire Hein-Salvi, Burnaby Caprice
Senior Athlete – Kalista Iten, Burnaby Caprice
Adaptive Synchro Athlete – Stephanie Papillo, BC Aquasonics
University Athlete – Timothy Yaroshuk, UBC Thunderbirds
Masters Athlete – Sarah Joubert, Vancouver Masters Synchro
Harry Jerome Comeback Award – Alissa Cait, Vancouver Masters Synchro

Team Awards
Provincial Stream – AG11-12 BC Aquasonics
National Stream – AG13-15 “Climbing Mt. Everest”, Burnaby Caprice
National Stream – Junior “Greek Mythology”, Pacific Wave Synchro

Club Awards
Club Development Award, Athletes – BC Aquasonics
Club Development Award, Coaches – Burnaby Caprice
Club Development Award, Officials – Kamloops Sunrays

Coaching Awards
Sport Development Coaching Award, Recreation – Angie Rossi, Pacific Wave Synchro
Sport Development Coaching Award, Adaptive Synchro – Tina Naveri, BC Aquasonics
Sport Development Coaching Award, Masters – Christina Demeris, Vancouver Masters
Excellence in Coaching Award – Elizabeth Ignace, Kamloops Sunrays
Female Coach of the Year – Tara Gant, Victoria Synchro

Officials of the Year
Level 3+ Certified Judge – Sharon Devana
Level 3+ Certified Referee – Carol Stewart

Volunteer Awards
Competition Volunteer of the Year – Lisa Teskey
President’s Award – Kamloops Sunrays

Charlotte Tutte Memorial Bursary – Hannah Proud, Victoria Synchro

Donalda Smith Bursary – 3-way tie
Kendall Stirrat and her Coach Kara Kalin, Pacific Wave Synchro
Luiza Vasylyeva and her Coach Tara Gant, Victoria Synchro
Clair Hein-Salvi and her Coaches Genevieve Higgs & Alina Aref’yeva